VINTAGES

CLASSIFICATION

Tasting of the best vintages since 1947 to mark the appellation's 70th anniversary with commentary by Pascal Morel, a Les Riceys wine producer, and Philippe Jamesse, head sommelier at the two Michelin-starred restaurant Les Crayères in Reims.

2010

Pascal Morel: This is a young vintage showing great finesse. Philippe Jamesse: Lovely breadth, spicy highlights, limpid, cherry-hued, fresh vegetal fatness; it shows interesting fatness and density, even if it still has a semi-tonicity, a rather rich physiognomy... Powerful with aromas of cherry flesh and cherry stones, a foresty character, very light notes of cocoa bean. Tighter tannic palate. Structure and nicely- textured density, rich and generous. Already delicious and showing promise.

2005

Ph.J.: Slightly shyer, but it is tending towards a foresty character – mushroom, chanterelle, as well as a little cigar tobacco - the palate is a little bit shy but very interesting.

2002

P.M.: An excellent year... Ph.J.: Magnificent balance, still fresh fruity aromas (strawberry, raspberry) and an interesting contrast with an ambience of damp earth and black truffle, a superb wine.

2009

P.M.: A typical year for the appellation. Ph.J. identifies several dimensions to this wine: a dairy dimension, an earthy dimension, redcurrant-type fruit, a distinctive impression of candy which makes this wine very pleasant and highly appetising; it can lead us towards a stony and very earthy impression.

2003

P.M.: a very hot year, which the winegrowers certainly remember. Ph. J.: Liqueur-like impressions, reminiscent of Port.  A wine showing a typically Pinot character, elegant, concentrated, long. Lovely notes of peony and dried flowers, very delicate scents that lend a lot of elegance to this wine’s very concentrated structure. This vintage shows strength and length even if the mid-palate is slightly contracted; this remains an unusual profile.

1999

Ph.J.: Great intensity, dried smoked meat flavour; big on the palate, even if not as big as the 2002.

1996

Ph.J.: Sumptuous. Showing a fruit character, generous, with ‘crème de fruits’ aromas. Hints of liqueur, loads of flesh and richness. Unctuosity and remarkable length.

1995

P.M.: also a hot year. Ph.J.: a slightly salty taste, fresh meat, scents of citrus fruit and candied oranges, a palate underpinned by the limestone, it's very well-honed, it's long - a very trim texture ...- nice balance but possessing more tension than the 96.

1990

P.M.: A magnificent, abundant harvest, another very hot year. Ph.J.: Spice, oriental patina, dried fruit, dates and prunes... A sweet, sensual wine. A few oxidative notes, the palate shows a slightly Port character..., magnificent hallmark of the vintage.

1985

P.M.: very tricky vintage, record-breaking cold weather when temperatures dropped as low as -32°C, not a big year. The vines only started growing again at the start of July.  Although this had the winegrowers somewhat worried, the result is very good. Ph.J.: A subtle wine that you have to go to (rather than it come to you). Delicate too (truffle, maritime humidity, quince, leather), delicate even, with elegance yet a certain timidity.

Ph.J.: Here we have nobility, the quintessence of the Pinot Noir. Notes of soya and smoked meat, very elegant and long on the palate. Everything is just right, it's perfect, magical, it's simply splendid. Flavour of this grape variety, it unfolds all by itself...

1989

1982

P.M.: a better year after the very challenging years of 1980 and 1981. Ph.J.: a wine that asserts itself with some difficulty, single register; emerging cherry fruit, a simple expression.

1976

P.M.: a year of drought, a small harvest picked on 28 August. The cows were grazing on grape pomace due to the lack of hay... It rained just before the harvest, which was a blessing. Ph.J.: Powerful, concentrated, rich, everything is just right! A Gevrey-Chambertin profile, with a lovely signature.

1969

P.M.: very hot year. Ph.J.: a build reminiscent of a multi-layered millefeuille. Saint George’s mushrooms, an autumn stroll through the forest, a mixture of sweet and tart. It takes at least half an hour to explore it fully. Showing great energy and depth, very concentrated. A fresh oaky aftertaste.

A very hot year, the first real post-war harvest when the wines could be conserved. Harvest in August. The wines contained 14 degrees of alcohol, the fermentation problems increased and half of the wines went into vinegar making. Ph. J.: It's wonderful, this wine first plunges us into the depths of the soul, into the depths of a cellar with a slightly mushroomy ambience. Then on the surface, a heady character reminiscent of lily. Very fine smoky dimension (great Iberian cured hams), black trumpet and morel mushroom aromas. Maritime overtones too, land and sea ambience (shellfish bisque, iodised character). Exceptional vintage, you have to take the time to live with it and write about it.

1947

1975

P.M: an interesting year, the first oil crisis, drop in champagne sales... a year that came out later.            Ph.J.: surprising and subtle, very limpid, a very energetic, intense and powerful wine, expansive limestone aftertaste... a wine that looks back on its youth.

1964

P.M.: two different producers, two different lands. The AOC's remembrance years: they allow us to share a thought for our ancestors. Ph.J.: Surprising, it’s like being in another wine region, another environment: Sauternes, Jurançon... there's an ambience of mistelle and aperitif wine (quince, apricot, dried plum). Yet another personality of the Pinot Noir from Les Riceys, and two signatures

Dégustation commentée par Pascal Morel, vigneron aux Riceys, et Philippe Jamesse, Chef Sommelier du restaurant doublement étoilé Les Crayères, Reims, des meilleurs millésimes depuis 1947 à l'occasion des 70 ans de l'appellation.

2010

Pascal Morel : C’est un jeune millésime, tout en finesse. Philippe Jamesse : Belle amplitude, des reliefs épicés, limpide, couleur cerise, un gras végétal frais ; il est à noter son gras et sa densité, même s’il a encore

une semi-tonicité, physionomie assez riche... Puissant sur la pulpe et le noyau de cerise, univers forestier, très légères notes de fève de cacao. Bouche plus resserrée sur les tanins. Structure et joli grain en densité, riche

et généreux. Déjà délicieux et prometteur.

2005

Ph.J. : Un peu plus timide mais son registre se dirige vers le forestier – champignon, girolle, mais aussi un peu de tabac de cigare – la bouche est un peu timide mais très intéressante.

2002

P.M. : une excellente année… Ph.J. : Magnifique équilibre, parfums toujours frais sur le fruit (fraise, framboise) et intéressant contraste avec une ambiance sur la terre humide, la truffe noire, un vin superbe.

2009

P.M. : Une année caractéristique de l’appellation. Ph.J. identifie plusieurs dimensions dans ce vin : une dimension lactée, une dimension terrienne, du fruit groseillé, une sensation de bonbon très précise qui rend ce vin très agréable et très gourmand ; il peut  nous emmener vers un sentiment caillouteux et très terrien…

2003

P.M. : année très chaude, tous les vignerons s’en souviennent. Ph. J. : Des sensations de liqueur, qui rappellent le vin de Porto. Un vin qui pinote, élégant, concentré, long. Belles notes de pivoine et fleurs séchées, des senteurs très délicates qui donnent beaucoup d’élégance à la structure très concentrée de

ce vin. Ce millésime présente de la force, de la longueur même si le milieu de bouche est un peu contracté ; cela reste un profil peu commun.

1999

1999 Ph.J. : Grande intensité, saveur de viande fumée séchée ; une bouche généreuse, même si c’est moins fort que le 2002.

1996

Ph.J. : Somptueux. Sur le fruit, généreux, de la crème de fruit. Des touches de liqueur, beaucoup de chair et de richesse. Onctuosité et remarquable longueur.

1995

1995 P.M. : aussi une année chaude. Ph.J. : un goût un peu salé, de viande fraîche, senteurs vers les agrumes, oranges confites, une bouche appuyée sur les calcaires, c’est aiguisé, c’est long – une texture très élancée …– bel équilibre mais plus en tension que le 96.

1990

P.M. : une récolte abondante et magnifique, encore une année très chaude. Ph.J. : Épices, patine orientale, fruits séchés, datte et pruneau… Un vin suave et sensuel. Quelques notes oxydatives, bouche aux accents de Porto…, magnifique signature du millésime.

1985

P.M. : millésime très compliqué, record de froid avec des températures jusqu’à moins 32°, pas une grosse année. La vigne n’a commencé à repousser qu’au début de juillet. C’était paniquant pour les vignerons, mais un très beau résultat. Ph.J. : Vin subtil qu’il faut aller chercher. Délicat aussi (truffe, humidité maritime, coing, cuir), si délicat même, avec une élégance mais aussi une certaine timidité.

Ph.J. : On touche à la noblesse, à la quintessence du pinot noir. Notes de soja et de viande fumée, allonge très élégante. Rien ne dépasse, c’est parfait, magique, c’est juste splendide. Saveur de ce cépage, ça déroule

tout seul…

1989

1982

P.M. : une meilleure année après les années très difficiles de 80 et 81. Ph.J. : un vin qui s’affirme un peu difficilement, mono registre ; fruit cerisé qui émerge, simplicité dans l’expression.

1976

P.M. : année de sécheresse, petite récolte vendangée le 28 août. Les vaches broutaient du marc de raisin faute de foin… Il a plu à la veille de la vendange, une chance. Ph.J. : Puissant, concentré, riche, rien ne dépasse ! Profil d’un Gevrey-Chambertin, avec

une jolie signature.

1969

P.M. : année très chaude. Ph.J. : une construction qui fait penser à un millefeuille identitaire. Sur le mousseron, la balade automnale en forêt, un mixte sucrositéacidulé. Il faut au moins une demi-heure pour le découvrir. Tout en énergie et profondeur, très concentré. Un retour sur le boisé frais.

P.M. : année très chaude, la première vraie récolte de l’après-guerre où on a pu conserver les vins. Vendange en août. Les vins titraient 14 degrés, les soucis de fermentation se sont multipliés et la moitié des vins sont partis en vinaigrerie. Ph. J. : C’est merveilleux, ce vin nous fait d’abord descendre dans les profondeurs de l’âme, dans les profondeurs d’une cave avec l’ambiance un peu champignonnée. Puis en surface, caractère entêtant lié notamment à la fleur de lys. Dimension très fine sur le fumé (grande  salaison ibérique), arômes sur la trompette de la mort, la morille. Lien maritime aussi, ambiance terre et mer (bisque de crustacés, angle iodé). Exceptionnel millésime, il faut prendre le temps de vivre avec et d’écrire dessus.

1947

1975

P.M : une année intéressante, première crise du pétrole, baisse du champagne… une année qui est ressortie plus tard. Ph.J. : surprenant et subtil, une grande limpidité, un vin très énergique, intense et puissant, retour expansif sur le calcaire… un vin qui revient sur son jeune âge.

1964

P.M. : deux producteurs différents, deux contrées différentes. Les années de mémoire de l’AOC : elles permettent de partager une pensée pour les ancêtres. Ph.J. : Surprenant, nous entrons comme dans un autre vignoble, un autre environnement : Sauternes, Jurançon… Ambiance mistelle et vin d’apéritif (coing, abricot, prune séchée). Encore une autre personnalité du pinot noir des Riceys, et deux signatures

bien différentes.